“CHIRP! CHIRP!”

This blog post is a song with a chorus.

 

The chorus is:

But that requires work in the attic!

Which requires clearing a path through the front of the attic!

Which requires (very rare) time in the house without any children!

Because having tiny helpers in my attic just isn’t safe.

CHIRP! CHIRP!

 

Here is the song:

 

(verse 1)

“CHIRP! CHIRP!” goes the smoke detector in my attic.

It has been chirping for (no exaggeration) over a month.

This means the battery has died

A new one’s needed inside!

I have to do that before the chirping noise drives me insane.

 

(chorus)

But that requires work in the attic!

Which requires clearing a path through the front of the attic!

Which requires (very rare) time in the house without any children!

Because having tiny helpers in my attic just isn’t safe.

CHIRP! CHIRP!

 

(verse 2)

You ask why I don’t do the work in the evening?

When the attic is cool and the kids are asleep?

It’s because the attic light bulb has blown!

And plans to install the new one quite thrown!

Since I can only install a bulb when I can see (i.e. during the day)

 

(chorus)

And that requires work in the attic!

Which requires clearing a path through the front of the attic!

Which requires (very rare) time in the house without any children!

Because having tiny helpers in my attic just isn’t safe.

CHIRP! CHIRP!

 

(verse 3)

You ask why I can’t have another adult watch the kids while I work in the attic?

I say, “sitters are $12 an hour!”

Weekdays, my husband’s work pulls him away –

Weekends, we don’t do projects; we play!

And that’s why my life has this soundtrack…

“CHIRP! CHIRP!”

 

P.S. (which stands for “Post Song” in this instance):  This song is dedicated to Nana, who during her visit (1) watched the kids while I spent a half-hour organizing the attic (which became crazy during our summer closet-cleaning marathon) and (2) changed the battery in the smoke detector.

Can you hear that?

Me neither.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.  Silence (no chirping!) for the first time in over a month.

 

P.P.S.  (Post, Post Song): Those of you who read this post, and remember yesterday’s post, are probably thinking that Nana has been working very hard here during her visit.  And you are right, especially since she is here during a week that (a) my husband is traveling for work and (b) T has been sleepless after receiving his 15 month vaccines.  But I must emphasize that while working hard, we are also making lots of time to hang out and play (e.g. movie with the kids yesterday! pizza with everyone today! park playdate tomorrow!)!  Love you, Nana!  Thanks for the work and the play!

 

Leave a Reply

