“MOM!!! LOOK!!! T is holding A BEER!”

Earlier this week, I took S (age 3) and T (18 months) with me to the grocery store while E was at school.

The shopping trip was going remarkably smoothly, largely due to the fact that we scored the elusive “red car cart” at our local Kroger.  S and T were ecstatic.

I was riding high too.  In addition to scoring the red car cart, I actually found a “sani-wipes” dispenser that had “sani-wipes” in it.  (Am I the only one for whom this is incredibly rare?)

Anyway, after I wiped down the cart and had a remarkably successful foray through aisles 1 and 2, my wave of good feeling was interrupted as I searched for taco seasoning on aisle 3.  The interruption came from S who yelled at full volume, “MOM!!!  LOOK!!!  T is holding A BEER!!!”

And indeed, it appeared he was!

S, a responsible older sister, immediately took it from him.

I, a responsible parent, immediately took a picture of her.  (What?  You think I should have taken the beer?)

Here’s the photo.  T is clearly irritated that his drink has been taken.  S is clearly saying “Cheers!”

Anyway, I was all curious about why the store would have beer on such a low shelf on an aisle next to the taco seasoning (i.e. where any kid could grab it!), but it turns out it was actually a bottle of Malta Goya, which google assures me is not alcoholic.

If only I could go back and tell that to all the people on aisle 3 who were, ahem,  “admiring” my parenting as I snapped away with my cell phone camera.

They should know that I was documenting my children’s choice to go for the non-alcoholic, high in vitamin B, carbonated beverage.

(Let’s not focus on the fact that when they grabbed it, they thought it was beer!)

Leave a Reply

