Christmas Recap, Part 2

Since I posted a few details about our missteps en route to helping Santa with the girls’ Christmas present, but never actually said what the present was, I thought I’d reveal it here.

To inspire even more dramatic productions in our house, he brought them a stage (technically, stage curtains)…

Santa borrowed the big curtain from our attic bin of old apartment furnishings and hung it with a $14 shower rod from Home Depot. The smaller frame was Santa's second attempt at a Craigslist purchase. (Honestly, you can buy almost anything on Craigslist...Santa just did a search for "stage" and there were real - enormous - stages for sale, though it turns out this one was a little more our speed!)

Santa also restocked our art supplies and provided art bins (with labels, a gift truly for mom!) that allowed us to put a set of supplies in each girl’s room.  We had actually sworn off markers in the months prior to Christmas because no one ever put the tops back on and I was constantly having to get rid of the ones that dried out, but Santa took a risk that paid off tremendously.  Since he gave each girl her own set of markers, everyone has become incredibly invested in keeping their own set intact.  In over a month, not a single marker has gone dry.  Perhaps a lesson for mom in how ownership can lead to more responsible behavior?  Hmmm…..

The white bin is one of the ones Santa brought for organizing the art supplies and has labels detailing what goes in each drawer. E was just as excited about the process of putting everything in the right drawer as she was about the art supplies. I was so excited that they fit perfectly into the girls' bookshelves that I asked Santa to bring each girl another one for holding hairbows, jewelry and play make-up. Just in case you are wondering, I am not a neat freak (at all...don't even make the bed most days...) but I am an obsessive organizer and LOVE labels. E has inherited this trait. Recently I asked her to clean her room and she told me she could if I could tell her how to spell "girl" and "boy". Eager to see where this was going, I spelled the words and checked on her 20 minutes later. Her room was still a wreck but her uncolored Toy Story picture pages had been organized into piles: one for pictures that had mostly "Boy" characters and one that had mostly "Girl" characters. Just like my house...a wreck, but a laundry room with clearly labeled bins for batteries, light bulbs, etc. I don't know if this is a blessing or a curse that I have bestowed upon my daughter! I do know E and I had the best time putting everything in the right bins while S and T joyfully played with dad!

Speaking of T, he was actually the first one up on Christmas morning.  While we typically have the rule that everyone waits at the top of the stairs until we can all walk down together to see the stockings, T is so young (and wakes up so early!) that my husband and I actually brought him downstairs for 45 minutes of his own time before anyone else in the house even stirred.  He saw his train/car table midway down the stairs and began yelling “vroom! vroom!” right away.  The opportunity to play cars trains with he and his daddy in the living room before anyone else woke up was an incredibly fun part of the day.

Santa shopped on Craigslist for the train table too, and my goodness there is a story there, but that is for another blog post...

Another incredibly fun part of the holiday was having my inlaws spend it with us!  Their making the trip was the real gift…such fun to be with them.  In addition, they brought a gingerbread house that my father-in-law won in a contest just before Christmas

This thing was enormous! We were all on a sugar high for well over a week, eating a piece of candy every time we walked by it!

Our "elf on a shelf" is named "Bingo Bango". He hid in the gingerbread house one morning, surprising us all!

My inlaws also arranged for the girls to go horseback riding at a local farm

Here are the girls brushing one of the horses after the ride. S is wearing boots that belonged to her dad when he was a kid. I love things like that!

and my mother-in-law showed up with a cooler full of food that reminded me of Mary Poppins’ bag.  Good stuff just kept coming out of it!

A directly quoted excerpt of one conversation…

Me: We should think about a dinner plan for tonight.

MIL: Well, I do have a fully cooked penne-a-la-vodka in my cooler that we could just heat up…

How amazing is that?!  Have I mentioned that my inlaws are awesome?  and that they drove (with that cooler and that gingerbread house!) 10+ hours to get here from New York?!

In case it hasn’t come across, we had a truly blessed holiday and loved just being together.  The fact that while together we were able to see the kids put on shows in front of their stage curtains, enjoy coloring with fun markers, play with the “vroom, vrooms” and “choo choos” that T so loves, learn how to ride and care for some gorgeous horses and eat magical penne with vodka cream sauce…well that was just unbelievable icing on the cake!

My point is that I loved the togetherness that this holiday season brought us…time off work for my husband, a trip to see my extended family, an opportunity to host my inlaws, and many mornings hanging out in pajamas with the kids.

One last note:  I also love how new art supplies inspire kids in ways you would never imagine.  Though it may seem a strange gift to those who don’t know my daughters, Santa brought them each their very own pack of post-its.  They were able to use as many as they wanted in whatever way they wanted.  Well, check out my new designer wine charms, folks!

First a close-up…

And then a shot of the whole set…

They spent 45 minutes designing and arranging the charms. By the way, those are not green bags of dog poo on my kitchen counter behind the cups. They are, however, green bags that are provided throughout our neighborhood for the purpose of picking up dog poo, but were - on this particular day - used by my daughters to collect rocks. Thanks for letting me clarify that... Also, by the way, that white box to the right of the cup contains the wonderful gift my husband gave me...my entire blog printed out...it looks like a real book! Such an awesome gift!

I’ll leave you with that for today.  One more Christmas recap is coming (specifically about our attempts to keep our focus on Christ amid all the glorious hoopla!), then it’s on to the new year!

Leave a Reply

