The merits of saying nothing…

I was cleaning up the kitchen, so I told the kids to play anything they wanted, as long as it didn’t require my assistance, and I mentally committed to letting them figure things out on their own for half-an-hour.  Still, I could hear snippets of their conversations and couldn’t resist peeking in at the process.

So when E pulled her top sheet off her bed and downstairs I thought, “that sheet is going to get so dirty down here”, but said nothing.

When S helped her spread it out on the living room’s hardwood floor I thought, “last time they did this with a blanket, with no rug pad, and it made such a slippery surface that someone fell”, but I said nothing.

When they dumped the whole box of lego duplos out on the floor and began separating the connected pieces and spreading them out on the sheet, I thought, “S is not wearing shoes!  She is going to step on a lego and hurt her foot!”, but I said nothing.

When they left the whole crazy mess to go color, I thought “they can’t just leave all of that there!”, but they were playing independently – just like I’d asked them to – so I said nothing.

When E asked me how to spell “botanical”, I said something – for the first time –  “B-O-T-A-N-I-C-A-L”

I also said something when they asked me to come look at what they had created.  I think my exact word was, “WOW!”

Check out what the kids can do when I step back, say nothing, and just let them go:  a botanical garden, made of lego-flowers, complete with signs welcoming bees and birds to come over and check it all out.

(I think I am wanting credit for showing restraint now, and for recognizing the merits of sometimes saying nothing, because when they are teenagers I am going to be all up in their business.)

God, as I raise these children, please help me know when to intervene, and when to bite my tongue and let my kids go & do & independently figure things out.

In the meantime, I think that’s a pretty great botanical garden!  (If you want to see the details they drew in the pictures, you can click on the photo to enlarge.)

2 responses to “The merits of saying nothing…

  1. I know that saying nothing is really difficult but, necessary. The botanical garden is beautiful. You did good!

  2. Way to go to you, and wow! Those are some very creative kids.

Leave a Reply

