Maybe *I* am the Redneck Woman…(I do love the song!)

Yesterday, S found two single dollar bills and an unopened condom on the ground near our mailbox.

A deal gone bad? (rejected because of the low bid??)

I don’t know, but certainly an awkward pause from me as my 4 year old shared her discovery…

Also, a lot of handwashing after I realized she had picked up both bills…

Fortunately, we were all distracted from the discovery by three things:

(1) the letter in the mailbox to S from a friend at preschool (a teacher-initiated project…how fantastic is that!)

(2) the neighbor’s yardman, wielding a weed-whacker and wearing his headphones, all while belting “I’m a Redneck Woman” at the top of his lungs (sing it, buddy!)

and

(3) the bird that flew into the house during our quick trip to the mailbox, began panicking in the kitchen, and had to be shooed out after I opened all the kitchen windows and removed every screen (the bird has since abandoned the beginnings of the nest he was building on our front porch, which is truly disappointing…)

Did I mention that all of this happened before 8am in the morning?

Sometimes I really wish I drank coffee…

2 responses to “Maybe *I* am the Redneck Woman…(I do love the song!)

  1. Of course it would be S who found that little stash! I’m imagining that she was not one to let it go without some info being shared…

  2. Yes, of course it was S! Fortunately, she was completely fixated on what she could get at the dollar store. And for once, I plan to let her spend the found cash, as I decided it was best not to go door to door to figure out who the owner of the $2 and the condom might be : ) As a note, the ever-generous S wants to share one of the dollars with her siblings. That’s my girl!

Leave a Reply

